Imposition of Malaysia Tourism Tax

The Royal Malaysian Customs Department (RMCD) has imposed a Tourism Tax (TTx) beginning 1st September 2017 under the regulation of RMCD and Ministry of Finance.

In accordance with section 6 Tourism Tax Act 2017, the TTx is a tax charged on a tourist staying at any accommodation premises made available by any operators in Malaysia. Malaysian nationals who hold a MyKad or permanent residents with MyPR cards are exempted from TTx.

With the implementation of Tourism Tax, MYR10nett per room per night will be collected from all non-Malaysian national or non-Malaysia permanent resident guests. This fee is not included in the reservation and will be collected upon check-out.